News » I-10: News on the move

New Orleans City Council inaugurations held at Saenger Theatre


  The three new members of the New Orleans City Council — and the four continuing ones — will take their oaths of office Monday, May 5, at 10 a.m. at the Saenger Theatre, followed by a special organizational meeting in City Council chambers at noon. Also being sworn in: Mayor Mitch Landrieu, Sheriff Marlin Gusman and other recently elected officials, including new Coroner Dr. Jeffrey Rouse. An interfaith ceremony will precede both gatherings at 8:30 a.m. at St. Louis Cathedral.

  Councilman-at-Large-elect Jason Williams will be sworn in by retired Orleans Parish Criminal Court Judge Calvin Johnson, while District C Councilwoman-elect Nadine Ramsey will be sworn in by Louisiana State Supreme Court Chief Justice Bernette Johnson. District D Councilman-elect Jared Brossett will be sworn in by Orleans Parish First City Court Judge Monique Morial.

  Brossett, who has served as a state representative since 2009, made his final remarks in the state Legislature April 30, where his fellow leges sent him off with a tune: "The Treme Song," by John Boutte. Brossett is from Gentilly, but nice gesture and close enough. — KEVIN ALLMAN

Add a comment