Perfect Harmony

The Big Easy foundation announces its music award winners



The Big Easy Music Awards concluded with the Harrah's New Orleans theater stage crowded with award winners playing "Big Chief." Best Contemporary Jazz winner Herlin Riley anchored the song on drums, joined by Best Funk winner Galactic's drummer Stanton Moore on a second kit. Entertainer and Male Performer of the Year Anders Osborne played guitar and Lifetime Achievement Award winner George Porter Jr. of the Meters was on bass. Honorary Music Chairperson David Torkanowsky played piano, and a large horn section featured many more award winners and nominees. It was a rousing conclusion to a night of special performances and awards recognizing musical achievement from 2012.

  Mayor Mitch Landrieu bestowed the Lifetime Achievement Award on The Meters' Art Neville, Leo Nocentelli and Porter (Joseph "Zigaboo" Modeliste was unable to attend the ceremony). Lt. Gov. Jay Dardenne presented the Entertainer of the Year Award to Anders Osborne and Allen Toussaint joined the Creole String Beans onstage as they performed his song "Here Come the Girls," originally recorded by Ernie K-Doe.

  The event was sponsored by Gambit, Harrah's New Orleans Hotel and Casino, Coleman E. Adler & Sons, Ketel One, Crown Royal and Abita Brewing Co.

2013 Big Easy Music Awards

Special Recognition Awards

Lifetime Achievement Award

The Meters

Entertainer of the Year

Anders Osborne

Music Heritage Award

Peter "Chuck" Badie

Ambassadors of New Orleans Music


Business Recognition Award

Louisiana Music Factory

Special Recognition

Threadhead Records

Honorary Music Chair

David Torkanowsky

Best Male Performer

Anders Osborne

Best Female Performer

Meschiya Lake

Best Album of 2012

Dr. John, Locked Down

Best Traditional Jazz

Meschiya Lake & the Little Big Horns

Best Contemporary Jazz

Herlin Riley

Best Traditional Brass Band

Treme Brass Band

Best Contemporary Brass Band

The Soul Rebels

Best Gospel Choir

Betty Winn & One A-Chord

Best Gospel Group/Individual

Minister Jo "Cool" Davis & Cordell Chambliss

Best Funk Band


Best Rhythm & Blues Band

Walter "Wolfman" Washington & the Roadmasters

Best Rap/Hip Hop Artist


Best Blues

Guitar Lightnin' Lee & His Thunder Band

Best Hard Rock/ Heavy Metal


Best Rock Band


Best Roots Rock

Alex McMurray

Best Country /Folk Band

Hurray for the Riff Raff

Best Zydeco Band

Chubby Carrier and the Bayou Swamp Band

Best Cajun Band

Lost Bayou Ramblers

Best Latin Band

Rumba Buena

Best World Music/Reggae


Best Mixed Bag

Helen Gillet

Best Emerging Artist

Vox and the Hound

Best DJ/Electronica

Gypsyphonic Disko

Add a comment