Events » Events Feature

Here are the nominees for 2017's Big Easy music awards

The annual awards honor the top performances of 2016


1 comment

The Gambit-affiliated Foundation for Entertainment, Development and Education (FEDE) announced special awards and nominees in musical categories of the Big Easy Awards. Winners will be announced at the Big Easy Awards gala April 24.

  Deacon John Moore will receive a Lifetime Achievement Award. The guitarist began performing in bands in middle school, and he became a bandleader and studio musician, performing on hits including Irma Thomas' "Ruler of My Heart," Lee Dorsey's "Working in the Coal Mine," Ernie K-Doe's "Mother-in-Law," and many songs produced by Allen Toussaint and Minit Records. He has released a handful of his own records, highlighted by Deacon John's Jump Blues.

  The Revivalists will receive the Entertainer of the Year award. The band's song "Wish I Knew You." reached No. 1 on Billboard's Adult Alternative Songs chart in September 2016. The group performed the tune on TODAY, Conan and The Ellen DeGeneres Show. The band also is nominated for Best Rock.

  Artist nominations include Leyla McCalla, who is nominated for Best Female Performer, Best Country/Folk and Best Album. Bobby Rush is nominated for Best Blues and Best Album. Troy Andrews is nominated for Best Male Performer and his band Trombone Shorty & Orleans Avenue is nominated for Best Rock. Tarriona "Tank" Ball is nominated for Best Female Performer and Tank & the Bangas is up for Best Rhythm and Blues.

  The Big Easy Awards gala features stage and music awards and performances by nominated artists. The event is at 7 p.m. April 24 at Orpheum Theater. Some awards will be announced April 24 on The Big Easy Awards is sponsored by Gambit, Orpheum Theater, Creole Cuisine Restaurant Concepts, Flor de Cana Rum, Sazerac Rye, Plymouth Gin, Stoli Vodka and Abita Brewing Company. Tickets are $45; $100 for floor seating. VIP tickets are $150. Contact Veronica Bird at (504) 483-3130 for tickets.

Big Easy Special Awards

Lifetime Achievement
Deacon John Moore

Entertainer of the Year
The Revivalists

Big Easy Music Award Nominees

Best Male Performer
Troy "Trombone Shorty" Andrews
Mike Dillon
Alex McMurray
Bobby Rush

Best Female Performer
Tarriona "Tank" Ball
Robin Barnes
Helen Gillet
Leyla McCalla

Best Album of 2016
Leyla McCalla, A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey (Jazz Village)
Herlin Riley, New Direction (Mack Avenue)
Bobby Rush, Porcupine Meat (Rounder)
Seratones, Get Gone (Fat Possum)

Best Traditional Jazz
Detroit Brooks
Meschiya Lake & the Little Big Horns
Aurora Nealand & the Royal Roses
Tuba Skinny

Best Contemporary Jazz
Terence Blanchard
Helen Gillet
Delfeayo Marsalis
Herlin Riley Quartet

Best Brass Band
The Hot 8 Brass Band
Soul Brass Band
To Be Continued Brass Band
Young PinStripe Brass Band

Best Gospel
Tyrone Foster & the Arc Singers
The Johnson Extension
The New Orleans Spiritualettes
Betty Winn & One A-Chord

Best Funk Band
Corey Henry & the Treme Funktet
Naughty Professor
Sexy Dex and the Fresh

Best Rhythm and Blues
Jon Cleary
Tank & the Bangas
Irma Thomas
Walter "Wolfman" Washington & the Roadmasters

Best Blues
Alvin Youngblood Hart
Little Freddie King
Luke Winslow-King
Bobby Rush

Best Rap/Bounce
3D Na'Tee
Big Freedia

Best Heavy Metal/Punk
Donovan Wolfington
Mountain of Wizard

Best Rock
The Revivalists
Sweet Crude
Trombone Shorty & Orleans Avenue

Best Country/ Folk Band
The Deslondes
Leyla McCalla
Alex McMurray
Paul Sanchez

Best Zydeco/Cajun
Dwayne Dopsie & the Zydeco Hellraisers
Lost Bayou Ramblers
Pine Leaf Boys
Terrance Simien & the Zydeco Experience

Best Latin/World
Alexey Marti & Urban Minds
The Iguanas

Best Emerging Artist
The Crooked Vines
Sexual Thunder!
Sexy Dex and the Fresh
Stoop Kids

Best DJ/ Electronica
DJ Soul Sister
Unicorn Fukr


Showing 1-1 of 1


Add a comment