15th Annual Big Easy Entertainment Awards delivers the male with winning performances, honors.



While the 15th Annual Big Easy Entertainment Awards always has something for everyone, the men definitely had their say throughout the evening devoted to honoring achievement in music and theatre in a ceremony held Monday, April 22, at the Hilton Riverside Hotel.

Dr. John, who at 61 shows no signs of slowing down, pulled off a "hat trick" by sweeping his three nominated music awards categories: Best R&B Artist, Best Male Performer and Best Album of 2001 (for his excellent Creole Moon release). Flynn De Marco shocked some and delighted others with two fiery performances from the nominated hit musical, Hedwig and the Angry Inch before winning for Best Actor in a Musical and for Best Musical.

And before jazz trumpeter Nicholas Payton capped off the evening by accepting his Entertainer of the Year Award, Sam Butera and Clarence "Frogman" Henry were honored for their brilliant careers with the Lifetime Achievement Award in Music and the Music Heritage Award, respectively.

Behind three great women was a man: Phillip Manuel performed with nominees Topsy Chapman, Teedy Boutte and Leah Chase. Boutte won for Best Female Performer, while Chapman won the Reader's Choice Award.

The venerable Le Petit Theatre du Vieux Carré scored wins for Best Director of a Musical (Derek Franklin and Sonny Borey, George M), Best Actress in a Musical (Nori Pritchard, Little Shop of Horrors) and both supporting acting awards in a musical (Russell Hodgkinson, Little Shop of Horrors; Ann Casey, The Mystery of Edwin Drood).

The theater categories were filled with winners from the burgeoning African-American theater scene, led by Best Drama Award winner Jitney, produced and directed by veteran character actor Wendell Pierce of the Cinque Group. Dillard University won for Best University Production for Troubled Waters.

The evening also featured performances by Chris Thomas King, Spencer Bohren, Supagroup, and from the musicals George M and Nighttime Naughties. Humorists Vance DeGeneres and Harry Shearer emceed the affair, which continued at the Harrah's Celebration Bash featuring music by Kermit Ruffins & the Barbecue Swingers and special guests. The Big Easy Entertainment Awards was sponsored by Harrah's New Orleans Casino, Gambit Communications, Cox Communications, Cable Rep Advertising, and 102.9 Old School Radio. Sponsors include Absolut Citron, John Jay, CC's Coffee, Adler's, and Abita Beer. Proceeds from the event support the Foundation for Entertainment Development & Education, funding projects that nurture the future talent of New Orleans.


Nicholas Payton -- Entertainer of the Year

Fr. Ernest Ferlita -- Lifetime Achievement in Theatre

Sam Butera -- Lifetime Achievement in Music

Clarence "Frogman" Henry -- Music Heritage Award

Topsy Chapman -- Reader's Choice Award

Business Recognition Award for utilizing New Orleans performers to promote the city -- New Orleans Tourism Marketing Corporation & The Louisiana Living History Project


Best Traditional Jazz

Tom McDermott

Best Contemporary Jazz

Donald Harrison Jr.

Best Traditional Brass Band

Treme Brass Band

Best Contemporary Brass Band

Lil' Rascals Brass Band

Best Gospel Choir

Franklin Avenue Baptist Church Mass Choir

Best Gospel Group


Best Funk Group

Papa Grows Funk

Best R&B Artist

Dr. John

Best Rap/Hip-Hop Group


Best Blues Artist

Henry Gray

Best Rock Group


Best Roots Rock Artist

Anders Osborne

Best Zydeco Artist

Rosie Ledet

Best Cajun Artist

Bruce Daigrepont

Best Country/Folk Artist

Spencer Bohren

Best Latin Group

Fredy Omar Con Su Banda

Best World/Reggae Group

Bamboula 2000

Best Male Performer

Dr. John

Best Female Performer

Tricia "Sista Teedy" Boutte

Best Emerging Group

Rob Wagner Trio

Best Album

Dr. John

Creole Moon


Best Musical

Hedwig and the Angry Inch

All Kinds of Theatre, Running With Scissors, Glitter

Best Drama


The Cinque Group

Best Comedy

As Bees in Honey Drown


Best Director of a Comedy/Drama

Janet Shea

Lonesome West

Best Director of a Musical

Derek Franklin & Sonny Borey

George M

Best Choreography

Diana Lala

Will Rogers Follies

Best Musical Director

Pamela LeGendre

My Fair Lady

Best Set Design

Keith Briggs

Morning's at Seven

Best Lighting Design

Daniel Zimmer


Best Costume Design

Amanda Madden


Best Performance by a Child

Jennifer Marks


Tulane Summer Lyric Theatre

Best Supporting Actress in a Play

Gwendolyn Foxworth

Two Trains Running

Best Supporting Actor in a Play

Bob Edes Jr.

As Bees in Honey Drown/Spiritual Gifts

Best Actress in a Play

Charlotte Schully

Spiritual Gifts

Best Actor in a Play

Gavin Mahlie

Richard II

Best Actress in a Play

Nori Pritchard

Little Shop of Horrors

Best Actress in a Musical

Flynn De Marco

Hedwig and the Angry Inch

Best Supporting Actor in a Musical

Russell Hodgkinson

Little Shop of Horrors

Best Supporting Actress in a Musical

Ann Casey

The Mystery of Edwin Drood

Best Original Play

When Ya Smilin'

By Ricky Graham

Best University Production

Troubled Waters

Dillard University

Emcees Harry Shearer and Vance Degeneres raise a glass to the winners. - TRACIE MORRIS/YOUNG STUDIO
O Brother! Chris Thomas King sings the blues. - TRACIE MORRIS/YOUNG STUDIO
Bonnie Sudor and John Jay - TRACIE MORRIS/YOUNG STUDIO
Flynn DeMarco flips his Hedwig. - TRACIE MORRIS/YOUNG STUDIO
John Hornyak of NARAS, Nikki Reyes of Louisiana Jukebox, and House of Blues GM Dan Smith - TRACIE MORRIS/YOUNG STUDIO

Add a comment