News » Thumbs Up/Thumbs Down

Bouquets & Brickbats

They get what they deserve


Martin Luther King Jr. Jazz Awards winners
included Ashe Cultural Arts Center Director Carol Bebelle; Urban League of Greater New Orleans President Erika McConduit-Diggs; New Orleans Jazz & Heritage Foundation President Demetric Mercadel; WWL-TV President and General Manager Tod Smith; WDSU-TV President Joel Vilmenay; and Chevron North America Vice President Warner Williams. Charles Taylor, chair of the University of New Orleans music department, received the Germaine Bazzle Award.


Louisiana Appleseed's 2015 Good Apples,
law firms recognized by the organization for their pro bono work, were honored Jan. 15. They include Gainsburgh, Benjamin, David, Meunier & Warshauer; Jennifer Barriere and Lee Reid of Adams and Reese; Andrew Graeve and Kyle Wallace of Barrasso Usdin Kupperman Freeman & Sarver; and Amy Duncan of the Louisiana Civil Justice Center.


Uptown Music Theatre students
awarded $50,000 in scholarships to Louisiana student winners of its annual art contest. New Orleans area winners include Riverdale High School's Hailey Dupont, Vandebilt Catholic High School's Taylor Gonsoulin, Lakeshore High School's Kelli Laderer, Archbishop Chapelle High School's Amy Nguyen, and Academy of Our Lady's Brittany Robichaux. Since 2009, the foundation contest has awarded $228,500 in college scholarships.


Tracie Medus,
a veteran of the New Orleans Police Department, pleaded guilty in U.S. District Court Jan. 22 to fraudulently receiving more than $150,000 from the Louisiana Road Home Program's Small Rental Property Program. Medus fraudulently claimed that two tenants in her Lakeview rental property met low-income, Road Home-authorized rents. She faces up to 10 years in prison at her April sentencing.

Add a comment