News » Blake Pontchartrain:

New Orleans Trivia

Blakeview: more local university leaders

Newcomb, Dominican, Dillard and more



This week we continue our look at some founding leaders of local institutions of higher learning. We begin with two well-known women's colleges: H. Sophie Newcomb Memorial College, founded under the auspices of Tulane University, opened in 1887 with Brandt Dixon as president. Also Uptown, St. Mary's Dominican College was founded by the Dominican nuns who arrived in New Orleans in 1860 and opened Dominican College in 1910 with Mother Mary deRicci at the helm. Our Lady of Holy Cross College (now University of Holy Cross) was founded by the Marianite Sisters of Holy Cross, who opened several other institutions including the Academy of Holy Angels. Its first president was Sr. James Dooley. Founded in 1930, Dillard University's first president was Will Alexander. When Southern University opened its New Orleans campus in 1959, Emmett Bashful was tapped to be the first leader of SUNO. Southeastern Louisiana University in Hammond, founded by Linus Sims, dates back to the 1920s and was chartered as a university in 1970. LSU opened in 1860 as a small, all-male military school near Pineville and moved to Baton Rouge in 1869. Called the Louisiana State Seminary of Learning and Military Academy (later nicknamed "Ole War Skule"), LSU's first leader was William Tecumseh Sherman, who resigned his post shortly after the Civil War began in 1861. Sherman became a legendary Union general but continued to support LSU after the war.

Add a comment