2015 Big Easy Music Awards nominations announced

The best in local jazz, rock, hip-hop, R&B, traditional music and more


1 comment

The Gambit-affiliated Foundation for Entertainment, Development and Education (FEDE) announced nominees for the Big Easy Music Awards in 25 categories, including best male and female performers and best album. Winners will be announced May 21 at a gala at Harrah's New Orleans, and special awards will be presented to Huey "Piano" Smith and Hurray for the Riff Raff.

  Hurray for the Riff Raff's ATO Records debut, Small Town Heroes, drew critical acclaim from NPR. Rolling Stone, Pitchfork and others. Band members will be celebrated as the Big Easy Music Awards' Entertainers of the Year, and the band is nominated for Best Country/Folk and Best Album of the Year. Bandleader Alynda Lee Segarra is nominated for Best Female Performer.

  Huey "Piano" Smith will receive a Lifetime Achievement Award. The native New Orleans R&B pianist is best known for the hit "Rockin' Pneumonia & the Boogie Woogie Flu." He played piano in Little Richard's band and on hits for other stars including Earl King ("Those Lonely Lonely Nights") and Smiley Lewis ("I Hear You Knocking"). Smith also wrote the song "Sea Cruise," which became a hit for Frankie Ford.

  Lt. Gov. Jay Dardenne's Music Ambassador Program will receive the Business Recognition Award. The program provides stipends of $1,000 or more to support musicians traveling to perform at out-of-state events.

  Categories cover a wide array of Louisiana genres, from traditional jazz to Cajun, gospel, electronica, funk and hard rock/heavy metal, and more than 60 bands and artists are nominated. Artists nominated in two categories include Helen Gillet (Best Mixed Bag, Best Female Performer), Aurora Nealand (for Best Traditional Jazz with The Royal Roses and Best Mixed Bag with Rory Danger & the Danger Dangers), Glen David Andrews (Best Album, Best Rhythm and Blues) and Luke Winslow King (Best Album, Best Blues).

  Winners will be announced and some nominated artists will perform at the awards ceremony at Harrah's New Orleans May 21. The Big Easy Awards support FEDE. Big Easy Music Awards sponsors include Gambit, Coleman Adler & Sons, Abita, Sazerac Rye, Barefoot Wine & Bubbly and Evamor. For tickets, call Jon Broder at (504) 483-3129.


Lifetime Achievement Award
Huey "Piano" Smith

Entertainer of the Year
Hurray for the Riff Raff

Business Recognition Award
Lt. Gov. Jay Dardenne's Music Ambassador Program


Best Traditional Jazz
Aurora Nealand & The Royal Roses
Preservation Hall Jazz Band
Tuba Skinny

Best Contemporary Jazz
Stanton Moore Trio
James Singleton
Jason Marsalis

Best Traditional Brass Band
The PresHall Brass
Treme Brass Band
Young PinStripe Brass Band

Best Contemporary Brass Band
The Hot 8 Brass Band
The Soul Rebels
To Be Continued Brass Band

Best Gospel Choir
Shades of Praise
Tyrone Foster and the   Arc Singers
Val & Love Alive Mass Choir

Best Gospel Group/Individual
The Electrifying Crown Seekers
Kim Che're
Pastor Jai Reed

Best Funk Band
Naughty Professor

Best Rhythm and Blues
"Deacon" John Moore
Glen David Andrews
Walter "Wolfman" Washington & The Roadmasters

Best Blues
Colin Lake
John Mooney
Luke Winslow King

Best Rap/Hip-Hop/Bounce
5th Ward Weebie
Big Freedia

Best Hard Rock/Heavy Metal
Mountain of Wizard

Best Rock
Benjamin Booker
Brass Bed
Royal Teeth

Best Roots Rock
Honey Island Swamp Band
Kristin Diable
Tommy Malone

Best Country/Folk Band
The Deslondes
Hurray for the Riff Raff
Paul Sanchez

Best Zydeco Band
Chubby Carrier and the Bayou Swamp Band
Lil' Nathan & The Zydeco Big Timers
Cedric Watson & Bijou Creole

Best Cajun Band
Lost Bayou Ramblers
The Magnolia Sisters

Best Latin Band
Alexey Marti & Urban Minds
Hector Gallardo's Cuban Jazz Trio
Rumba Buena

Best World Music
Panorama Jazz Band

Best Mixed Bag
Helen Gillet
Rory Danger & The Danger Dangers
Sweet Crude

Best Emerging Artist
The Breton Sound
Leyla McCalla

Best Electronica
Quintron & Miss Pussycat
Unicorn Fukr

Best DJ
DJ Soul Sister
The Madd Wikkid
Quickie Mart

Best Male Performer
Anders Osborne
Big Chief Monk Boudreaux
Troy "Trombone Shorty" Andrews

Best Female Performer
Alynda Lee Segarra
Aurora Nealand
Helen Gillet
Lynn Drury

Best Album Of 2014
Glen David Andrews Redemption
Hurray for the Riff Raff Small Town Heroes
Luke Winslow King Everlasting Arms


Showing 1-1 of 1


Add a comment